1. Welcome to the Southern Oregon RC forums.
    Dismiss Notice

SLR Wobbles

Discussion in 'AP/FPV' started by Pelagic Pilot, Aug 24, 2012.

1. Pelagic Pilot

Pelagic Pilot Registered

I know nothing about SLR cameras, how do they capture video? Are they going to Jello like a GoPro? Or are they made like a CCD camera that doesn't care about vibrations?
  2. w00d

w00d Registered

New Toronto, Ontario, Great White North, Ay
    Well PP sorry for the late response ...

... but given I have NO first hand experience flying a DSLR (or for that matter, no experience flying ANY camera) I didn't feel I should be the ONE to answer your questions. Yup I intentionally LET your question SIT waiting for others to answer! But as I also HATE an 'orphan' thread I have a little knowledge I can offer when talking DSLRs. Although I think you already know most ALL this anyway ... Anyway, anyway ... ...

I'll will offer what I do know ...

... Most if NOT all DSLR currently in production use the cheaper to manufacture CMOS sensor with  their 'rolling shutter' and ALL the negative baggage that implies! However IMO our saving grace is their speed, unfortunately for the best speed we have to PAY-for-IT. Truth be told with the current state of the technology there is NO discernible difference (although MANY a 'Pixel-Peeper' would argue) in image quality if given the same or equal LENS between the low-end verses high-end DSLR! To see the LARGE differences in images quality we have to look at the different camera 'TYPES' e.g: Moving up in quality, Key-chain, Helmet-cam, Point'n shoot, 4/3 type sensor,  DSLR and the VERY large sensor.