1. Welcome to the Southern Oregon RC forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Where to go from here

Discussion in 'Off Road' started by BigJoe, Nov 19, 2011.

1. BigJoe

BigJoe Registered

So, i bought a new Rustler brushless and am very happy with it. I still want to think stadium trucks are not completely phased out....

Yeah anyway I already want something else. Something different. I plan on racing whenever racing season starts around here. So I don't want to destroy the Rustler.

I like to bash, but I really think I'd like to crawl as well. Funding is somewhat limited at the moment, but I could make a stretch for the right deal.

Let's just say I'm new to the hobby. Should I go with nitro or stay with electric? I've been cautioned to go with LiPo because my young children will be enjoying the hobby with me as well and apparently there's some sort of issue with them catching on fire?? So I'm fine, for now with NiMh. What's the cost involved for running nitro every weekend?

I've been watching youtube and the guys with the Savages look like they're having way too much fun. But on the other hand, I grew up with low-speed four wheeling and I think it would be fun to have a crawler.

For the next couple of years, I won't be buying any other rigs. I would like to take advantage of my current monetary situation and buy something of decent quality, but not be fixing every weekend. I don't plan on upgrading like crazy. Fix it when it breaks.

It seems there are some great deals on Craigslist right now, but I'm just not sure the direction I want to take. I've been researching like crazy trying to figure out what upgrades do what to which car, cost, and etc.

What do you guys think? Anyone out there that is or was in my general situation? Any direction, or questions I need to ask myself would be greatly appreciated. Car considerations? Used is ok with me, I found a lot of help online for buying used cars.

Sorry for the novel!

-Joe
  2. smitty

smitty Registered

Hi Joe,